Wife’s Sewing Desk

In Christmas Season 2010 I built a custom sewing table for my wife as her present.  I finished in February, so it was a little late but I earned tons of points because I did a great job.  This desk is solid red oak (no cheap plywood).  My wife came up with the inlay design and the cuts, we did order the legs from a great wood worker who specializes in custom table legs (If I could remember his name I would definitely encourage you to do business with him).  The inlays were also purchased, everything else is all me.  I did a hand rubbed oil finish to a semi-gloss look.

Below is the process of building this table.  I started with a sharp pencil, had “help” from my dog ‘Nilla, and you can see the rest for yourself.

Leave a Reply

