Sunday Afternoon Shop Time

Sometimes it is so nice to just piddle around in the shop. Instead of the hustle of ‘I’ve got to get stuff done’ I just wandered around aimlessly in my shop for a couple of hours.

I believe that God established the Seventh day as a day of worship and rest. Yeah, you can argue that this would technically be Saturday, but in America, for all practical purposes it is Sunday.  The forth commandment is:

“Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor, and do all your work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the LORD your God. On it you shall not do any work, you, or your son, or your daughter, your male servant, or your female servant, or your livestock, or the sojourner who is within your gates. (Exodus 20:8-10 ESV)’

Jesus said,  “The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath (Mark 2:27 ESV).  This is Sunday for most Christians.  It is a day for rest, relaxation, and recreation. We all need a break and a break from our hobbies keeps us from burning ourselves out. A Sabbath has been shown to have health, creative, and spiritual benefits.  

Saturday I didn’t spend any time in my shop, rather I spent good quality time with my wife.  Today after church we ate lunch, watched some TV. She went to her craft room, and I decided to go out to my shop (I get bored with TV and sitting still, also I have absolutely no use for football).

I didn’t have a plan. I knew I didn’t want to get dirty since I had evening service at 6.  So I just meandered around doing a little of this and that.  I then decided a snack would be nice so a  went inside for a little bit.  Later I came back for a little bit.

This is a picture of my new shelving system.  I sized it to fit "Milk Boxes" that I can get for free at the grocery store.

This is a picture of my new shelving system. I sized it to fit “Milk Boxes” that I can get for free at the grocery store.

I got a lot done.  Without really realizing it I straightened up most of my shop and put everything in its proper place.  I also got a lot of cutoffs and scrap put in the trash and out of my way.  When I get off work tomorrow I know I can go out to the shop and get to work without the frustration of misplaced tools and cluttered workbenches.

Besides the cleanup, I also played with my new wood burning tool that I bought while trapped in the sewing store with my wife a few weeks ago.  I had much better results with scrap oak than pine.  Maybe someone can give some tips? I also cut a stencil out of my logo using the Xacto Basic Knife Set set I acquired in that dreaded place.

2014-09-07 15.10.47

Sometimes a lethargic day in the shop can be more productive than you think.  And it didn’t  feel like work.

God bless,
Robert

Leave a Reply

