Quick and Easy Wood Vise Jaws

I’ve ruined the finish on several projects over the years a with the metal jaws in my vice.  Replacing the jaws with a non-marring jaw is the way to go.

2014-09-10 17.13.32My solution involved some scrap pine, a hot-glue gun and 5 minutes.  I have a strip of pine that I cut from a 2×4 that is about 3/8″ thick.  I cut two pieces slightly longer than the jaws of my vices.  I then used the hot glue gun to attach them directly to the metal jaws.  The vice is its own clamp so I closed it with moderate pressure until the glue dried.  It seems to be holding up pretty well.  When it fails I’ll just do it again.  I have two metal vices so one still has the metal teeth if I need it.

Hope this helps, God Bless,
Robert

PS: Now I have to put my wife’s hot glue gun back in her craft room before she notices again!  

Irwin Light Duty Bench Vise

Leave a Reply

