Sometimes It’s Just Easier to Buy a Jig

I’m all for those of you who make your own jigs, clamps, tools, etc.  I’m always impressed to see how you made a tool for yourself that makes your work easier and more enjoyable.  In fact, I just bought a couple of 2x4s in order to make a set of clamps.

That being said, sometimes it’s just easier to just buy it.  I’ve attempted several times to make a usefull feather board for my table saw.  All without much success.  The other day I was in the store and saw a featherboard that fits in both 5/8 and 3/4 inch miter tracks.

Feather Board

Mine is a “Craftsman” branded feather board, but it’s exactly like this one from Milescraft. It’s also cheaper on Amazon.

Milescraft FeatherBoard for Router Tables, Table Saws and Fences

I figured for the price (less than $20) it was worth it.  With the time I spend trying to make one that works right, I would have well over an hour into it and if I count labor, it is much cheaper to just buy.  Also, is safety equipment something we should really skimp on?

I’m still going to make jigs and tools, I do enjoy the challenge, but for somethings like a cheap feather board it’s just not worth the hassle.

What are jigs you feel are worth buying instead of making, and vice versa?

Leave a comment