My New Workbench

It’s probably more like a workstation than a bench.  Actually it is the “Paulk Total Station”  designed by Ron Paulk.  He is a carpenter and home builder that has come up with very interesting organization systems, and work benches that are light weight and strong.

His total station incorporates a portable table saw, a miter-saw, and a router table into a portable 3ftx6ft table with extension arms for the miter saw.  I bought the plans and have been working on it the last several weeks.  I think it is a worthwhile investment and will work well in my small shop.

After I bought my miter saw, I spent a few days setting it up outside and then started looking for miter-saw station ideas.  My hope is this design will best utilize the space I have available.

Since Paulk has a 15 part youtube series on building this workstation and other benches, and he sells the plans on his website I’m not showing a step-by-step build. Paulk put a lot of time designing the plans in Sketch-up and gives you a detailed material list.

PTS pre ChristmasI haven’t yet installed the supports for my table saw or the extension wings.  But for where I’m leaving it (for now) I’m pretty much done.  After the “Christmas Crunch” of getting projects, gifts, and orders completed; I’ll finish it up completely.

The horses with material support are nice but I may end up using my new modular system to support the work top.  I’m going to sleep on this a little longer.

I’m loving it.  Primarily for the improved router table.  Before I had my router on a small table and used the table stand that came with it.  I incorporated my router table plate into the work bench.  It has made a world of difference in how I use my router.

I had to modify Paulk’s plans a little to fit my Craftsman 10″ Sliding Compound  Miter Saw.  Also instead of buying a router plate I used the table that came with my Ryobi 8.5 Amp 1-1/2 Peak Horsepower Router.

I used 2x4s to support my router plate. I used straight bit to cut the relief for the depth.  I got it perfect.

I used 2x4s to support my router plate. I used straight bit to cut the relief for the depth. I got it perfect.

 

router Station

The storage space directly under the table top is a nice feature for getting tools out of my way.  I’m going install a heavy duty power strip to run all the tools I leave at the station.  And so I can just plug it in if I go to a job site.

 

miter saw base

This base got me close to level, but I still had to use some 1/16th washers to get it perfect

miter saw stationThe Paulk Total Station takes up a lot of space in my shop but none of it is what I would call wasted.  And that is why it’s a welcome addition.

I’ll further modify the PTS to fit my specific needs  as time goes by.

 

Leave a Reply

